Welcome to the 17th European Conference On Non-Linear Optical Spectroscopy, the annual meeting devoted to diverse topics in the rapidly expanding field of nonlinear optical spectroscopy, including coherent Raman scattering, novel laser sources, microscopy, imaging, combustion, ultrafast and vibrational spectroscopy.

Click here to download the final conference program!

The conference was held in Politecnico di Milano, Italy.

This conference has been endorsed by SIOF (Società Italiana di Ottica e Fotonica)



Panel 1

List of Invited Speakers


Marcus Cicerone

Marcus Cicerone National Institute of Standards and Technology (Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA)


Marcus Cicerone is project leader in the Biomaterials Group at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (USA). His research has two areas of concentration, coherent Raman imaging, and dynamics of amorphous systems – with a focus on stabilizing proteins in dry form. He has published approximately 100 peer-reviewed scientific papers. In 2004 Dr. Cicerone and his research team introduced broadband coherent anti-Stokes Raman scattering (BCARS) microscopy.

Yasuyuki Ozeki

Yasuyuki Ozeki University of Tokyo (Tokyo, Japan)


Yasuyuki Ozeki is Associate Professor at University of Tokyo, Japan. He has been working on photonic techniques for generation, control, and measuring optical pulses, on the application of ultrafast laser pulses, and on nonlinear-optical microscopy techniques. He developed hyperspectral SRS microscopy with wavelength-tunable laser pulses, which can be applied to multi-color, label-free imaging in real time. He is the authors of >50 scientific publications in international peer-reviewed journals.

Jürgen Popp

Jürgen Popp Friedrich-Schiller University and Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology (Jena, Germany)


Juergen Popp holds a chair for Physical Chemistry at the Friedrich-Schiller University Jena since 2002. Since 2006 he is also the scientific director of the Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology, Jena. His research interests are mainly concerned with the development and application of innovative Raman techniques for biomedical diagnosis. He has published more than 700 journal papers and has been named as an inventor on 12 patents. He is founding editor and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Biophotonics.

Niek van Hulst

Niek van Hulst ICFO - The Institute of Photonic Sciences (Barcelona, Spain)


Prof. Dr. Niek van Hulst interest is to control light interaction at the nanometer scale. To this end he is using individual molecules and quantum dots as nano-sources/detectors. Single quantum systems are ideal local field probes of the local mode density in photonic nanostructures, showing specific lifetime, spectrum, polarisation and direction of photon emission. To generate strong nanoscale optical fields we fabricate optical nano-antennas, tuned in resonance with the photon emitters.

Minbiao Ji

Minbiao Ji Fudan University (Shanghai, China)


Dr. Minbiao Ji received his Ph.D degree in Physics at Stanford University, in 2011, working on ultrafast laser spectroscopy. Afterwards, he joined the research group of Prof. Sunney Xie at Harvard University as a postdoctoral research fellow, working on coherent Raman scattering microscopy for biomedical applications. Minbiao Ji is currently a Professor in the Department of Physics in Fudan University, Shanghai, where he won the “Thousand Youth Talent Plan” in 2015. His current research is focused on developing novel nonlinear optical spectroscopy and microscopy tools to study biomedical and material sciences.

Robert P. Lucht

Robert P. Lucht Purdue University (West Lafayette, Indiana, USA)

Robert Lucht is the Bailey Distinguished Professor of Combustion at Purdue University. His research activities include fundamental studies of femtosecond CARS and polarization spectroscopy, and the application of high-speed laser diagnostics in high-pressure combustion. He has authored or co-authored over 160 articles in archival journals, and advised or co-advised more than 35 PhD students. He is a Fellow of the Optical Society of America, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). In 2008 received the AIAA Aerodynamic Measurement Technology Award.

Panel 2 Placeholder
Panel 3 Placeholder
Panel 4 Placeholder